Raspberry Lemonade

I had a lovely Tuesday!

It’s county fair week here in our new town of _______, and I’ve never been to a more beautiful, classic (and inexpensive!) country fair. There were moments where I felt like I was in one of the fair scenes from Charlotte’s Web as I walked under mature trees and in and out of the animal barns with my children. Even one of the pig stalls had a spider’s web up in the front corner and I would not have been surprised to find the word “humble” woven into it.

All fairs smell the same, though. Fried dough . . . pizza . . . those (amazing) potato chips that are cut from a single potato that one must rip apart to eat . . . some sort of fried food on a stick . . . and, of course, cotton candy. I buy cotton candy once a year and it’s always at the fair.

The other fair purchase I used to frequently make was lemonade.

It’s hot. You see a sign that reads, “FRESH SQUEEZED LEMONADE,” and it sounds perfect right. about. now! Who cares if it costs $6.00/plastic cup? It’s cold and sweet and it’s lemonade.

I didn’t buy any. I didn’t buy any because (it was $6.00) and I knew that I had all I needed at home in my kitchen to make my very own . . .

FRESH SQUEEZED LEMONADE

  • 1 cup of raspberries (I used frozen berries)
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 7 or 8 lemons
  • 7 cups of water

1. Heat the raspberries and sugar over medium heat until warm and bubbly. When it’s ready, your nose will know!

2. Pour the raspberry syrup through a fine mesh strainer or food mill to remove the seeds. If you don’t mind small seeds and pulp in your lemonade, feel free to skip this step.

3. While the raspberry syrup is cooling, fill a pitcher with water. Slice lemons and use a lemon juicer to squeeze out the juice directly into the pitcher.

4. Stir in the raspberry syrup.

5. Now it’s “time for a taste test,” as my Colin says! If it’s too sour for you, add sugar tablespoon at a time until the lemonade has reached desired sweetness. If it’s too sweet, add some more lemon juice.

6. Drink, relax, and savor these last bits of summer!

5 thoughts on “Raspberry Lemonade

  1. Pingback: Winter Nature Hikes and Hot Chocolate! | Fireflies and Mud Pies

  2. Pingback: Leprechaun Milk | Fireflies and Mud Pies

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter – Chocolate Cream Cheese Spread | Fireflies and Mud Pies

I love comments! Please leave one here:

