Cooking With Kids and Zucchini Bread

Colin and Owen have helped me in the kitchen since they were small toddlers banging on pots and pans.

When they weren’t practicing for future rock stardom, I taught them how to measure, pour, scoop, crack eggs, use a butter knife, and stir! Some of our best times have been cooking in the kitchen together – making a brilliant mess and singing along to music! Todd really loves the mess part! In all seriousness, he did say to me this summer, “Thank you for teaching Colin and Owen how to cook. No one ever taught me that. It’s good for them to know and it’s a happy memory they will have of you when they grow up.”

I think many people underestimate children’s abilities in the kitchen. As a first-time parent 4 years ago, I was one of them. But, when I gave Colin his first egg to crack at 18-months old, he did it! He did it quite well!

In the summer on Saturday mornings, the boys and I visit the local Farmer’s Market. They love choosing colorful vegetables (like purple string beans!) and ridiculously large zucchinis (like Peter, our $1.00 zucchini baby, whom – quite obviously – Todd was up all night with feeding and rocking).

Within the next few days, little Peter will find himself on top of the grill drizzled with olive oil, pepper, and sea salt; or, in our favorite summer bread recipe.

Zucchini Bread by Helen

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp cloves
  • 1 tsp allspice
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • dash of almond
  • 2 cups grated zucchini (I always add more – up to 3 cups!)

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour your bread pan or muffin tins (I line muffin tins with paper cups).

2. Sift flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and spices together.

3. Beat eggs. Add oil, sugar, vanilla, almond and zucchini.

I’m an egg snob, by the way. I just can’t stand to buy eggs from the grocery store. I prefer them fresh from someone’s chicken yard. Fresh eggs taste better, produce higher quality baked goods, and have much richer yolks – look at that deep, golden color!

4. Mix well. Pants and shirts are optional.

5. For bread, bake for one hour at 350 degrees. For muffins, bake at the same temperature for about 20 minutes. When finished, the bread will be golden and a knife will pull out cleanly from the middle.

6. Eat and enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Cooking With Kids and Zucchini Bread

  1. Okay, you have totally inspired me. I am going to let my daughter crack an egg. I’ve always been good with sharing the stirring, measuring, pouring etc., but I always drew the line at cracking the egg. Not anymore! 🙂

  2. I LOVE farm fresh eggs, too. A friend had a small flock of chickens (up to 24, at one time) so we were often the recipients of the overflow of eggs. The first time I made scrambled eggs, I could NOT get over the incredible color!!! We are working on getting some chickens. I will post pictures when that happens 🙂

    • We have chicken plans too, Elizabeth! I hope sometime in the near future their will be tabs at the right of this blog labeled, “Our Hens” and “Our Hives” – Todd wants bees and I would like a small flock of Rhode Island Reds.

  3. Pingback: Homemade Holiday Gift Series: Pure Vanilla Extract | Fireflies and Mud Pies

I love comments! Please leave one here:

