The Good Old Days

There is no place that I love more than Camp, in Autumn, in early morning.

Sleepy people, strangers and friends – pajamas, sweatshirts, blankets, glasses, mussed hair, smiles – gather together in The Lodge for breakfast when the ringing bell echoes over the lake. The mouth-watering smell of bacon and eggs inside – the soothing scent of burning wood from early morning campfires outside. Crisp air. Leaves dropping. Coffee. Laughter.

Breathe deep and simply enjoy, for these are The Good Old Days.

My grandfather reminded me of this last year when my family was coping with job loss and all of the stress, fears, and heavy thoughts that naturally come with it. He pulled me aside, cupped his hands around my face and said:

Your family is beautiful. Your boys . . . Just always remember, that these are The Good Old Days. These are The Good Old Days. Enjoy them no matter how hard it is.

These are The Good Old Days. The kind of days that you can’t get back once they pass.

The kind of days that you will wish back for and remember fondly when you are older.

So make The Good Old Days good ones.

This post has been featured:

10 thoughts on “The Good Old Days

  1. Such a good lesson, especially for all those stressful times. I don’t ever want to look back and regret anything. Thanks for sharing!

  2. *sniffle* that was an awesome post. Thanks again for the reminder. I still repeat “enjoy, don’t destroy” when my kids are whining up a storm 🙂

  3. Pingback: 5 Tricks For: Enjoyable Nature Walks with Children | Mud Pies and Fireflies

  4. Pingback: Positive Parenting and Embracing the Moment at The Sunday Parenting Party | One Perfect Day

  5. What a beautifully written post. This is something I write about often – embrace these moments, the here and now, they will be gone all too soon. Thank you so much for linking up to The Sunday Parenting Party. I’ve featured you on my blog today as one of my favourites from last week’s link up. Please pop over and grab a “featured at” button if you would like one. I have also used one of your photos to feature you and link back to you (as per the notes on the linky) but if you would prefer me to remove the photo, please let me know and I’ll do so immediately. Thanks again for linking up!

I love comments! Please leave one here:

