Apple Fest 2012: My Favorite Apple Crisp

Let me be straight with you: I’m not really a pie kind of gal. Unless, it’s Chicken Pot Pie and now that I’ve mentioned it, I’ll probably have to cook it tomorrow night for dinner or I’ll be craving it all week.

There is something so old fashioned and simple about crisps. Fruit. Oatmeal. Butter. Sugar. Flour. Throw it all together and it’s the so delicious that you sigh a little bit while chewing kind of combination. I’ve loved this recipe for years and have no desire to hunt for a new one – it’s an Apple Fest Original!

APPLE CRISP by Cheri Osborne

Disclaimer: This recipe is ONLY Owen approved. Colin “does not care” for crisp. Hmph!

  • 1 cup unbleached flour
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 TSP cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 4 cups peeled, cored, sliced apples (I really like Granny Smith apples for this recipe)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 TBSP cornstarch
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 TSP real vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 9×13 baking dish.

2. Combine flour, oats, brown sugar, cinnamon and melted butter in a medium bowl. Stir until crumbly. Press half of the mixture into the baking dish and cover with apples.

3. Mix the white sugar, cornstarch, water and vanilla together in a saucepan. Cook and stir until the syrup is thick and clear (about 10 minutes). Don’t be alarmed by the picture! My syrup is not clear because I used unprocessed sugar, which is naturally caramel colored. It is a cup to cup replacement for processed sugar and is a little healthier for one’s body because of the trace nutrients in it (but let’s face it, sugar is still sugar!). Pour the syrup over the apple slices. Cover the apples completely with the remaining crumble mixture.

4. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes until the crisp is golden and bubbly.

5. Serve and enjoy, preferably with fresh whipped cream or vanilla ice-cream!

What’s your favorite fall dessert?

4 thoughts on “Apple Fest 2012: My Favorite Apple Crisp

  1. Woo HOOO! Thank you! I have been looking for a good apple crisp recipe, especially since my last attempt was oh so awful 😦 I will be trying this soon, especially with the cold, cruddy weather we are going to have this weekend.

  2. This looks delicious! I’ve never thought to put the crisp on the bottom as well as the top. I’m adding this recipe to my list of ones to try!

  3. Pingback: Let’s Learn About: Graphing and Sorting with Candy Hearts | Fireflies and Mud Pies

I love comments! Please leave one here:

