Apple Fest 2012: Baked Apples

Years ago, when I was in graduate school, I bought a subscription to Martha Stewart Magazine. I loved sitting in my little apartment and reading it while something was baking in the oven – it felt sooo grown up and sophisticated.

While Todd and I were dating back then, I prepared Martha’s baked apples for dessert one evening. They smelled incredible and I was hoping that Todd would think about how domestic I was and how someday, I would make a wonderful wife. I asked him what he thought of dessert.

“It’s fine,” he replied, “I could take it or leave it.”

Wha . . . wha . . . what! Fine? Take it or leave it? Are you joking? The apples were delicious and tasted like a combination of fresh applesauce and homemade crisp, but without the dirty dishes.

BAKED APPLES from Martha Stewart Magazine

  • 4 medium apples (Martha says to use Rome Beauty apples, but I just used what I had left over from apple picking)
  • 1/4 cup unsalted, softened butter
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 TSP ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 TSP ground ginger
  • 1/4 TSP salt

1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

2. Mix the butter, brown sugar, oats, cinnamon, ginger and salt together.

3. Scoop out the core of each apple with a melon baller (I used my cookie scoop), but do not cut through the bottom of the apple.

4. Fill the apples with the oatmeal mixture. Place the apples in 9 inch, non-reactive baking dish and add 1 cup of water. Cover the dish with foil and bake for 45 minutes at 375 degrees.

5. Allow the apples to cool they until comfortable to eat. Enjoy!

In case you are wondering, Todd ate and enjoyed the baked apples tonight. He claims he has no recollection of EVER calling anything I have ever cooked just “fine.” Good cover, Todd!

One thought on “Apple Fest 2012: Baked Apples

I love comments! Please leave one here:

