Make a Splash!

Well, it’s raining here in Northern Michigan . . . again! However, there is no need to stay indoors today because the temperature is mild. This morning, just as the boys were becoming a little whiny, I announced, “Put on pants,” (why do I feel like I’m always telling them to put on pants!?), “Grab your boots and rain jackets. We are going puddle jumping.”

Oh, I wish you could have seen their expressions and heard their shrieks of delight. We are going puddle jumping and it’s not even summer!

Puddle jumping is a classic childhood activity that improves coordination, balance, gross motor skills and moods. Ornery children will soon enough giggle and smile with delight once they understand that they are allowed to get wet and dirty, and in fact, are being encouraged to do so. Puddle jumping provides exercise and is the perfect activity for children who seek sensory experiences, and perhaps even for children who need some encouragement in that area.

Please do not worry that your child will get too cold. Trust that your child knows his or her body best: if they are cold, they will tell you. To prevent drowning, it is always important to supervise children while they are puddle jumping. However you can still supervise and have fun – jump in and make a splash with your kids!

During wet, messy puddle fun, children are learning about the world around them.

  • How is a puddle made?
  • Why do puddles form in some spots, but not in the others?
  • What makes a puddle dry up?
  • What happens if I do this (stomp and kick)? Or this (toss in a pebble)?
  • Why does water ripple?

They are directing their own learning experience, and they don’t even know it!

Remember . . .

The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful.
             E.E. Cummings

This Post Has Been Featured:

16 thoughts on “Make a Splash!

  1. Hi there. I really enjoyed reading your blog and looking at your pictures, and as we’ve had rain here in the uk one and off for the last 24 hours I think I know what my weekend activity is going to be with my children! My daughter will be beside herself!! Could I ask if you would mind if I used one of your pictures of your children in some work I am doing about risky play please with teachers to give them some ideas about children letting go! It will be the picture where you can’t see the face in the blue coat – but you can imagine the look on their face and the energy that has gone into making the splash!!! Thanks very much.

    • Hello! I’m so glad that you enjoyed the post. Yes, you may use the image as long as 1) It remains “watermarked” with my name in the bottom right corner 2) Please include a link back to the post in your presentation. They might enjoy Fireflies and Mudpies as a resource. If your presentation is ever online, I would love to see it!

      Thanks!

      Melissa

      • That’s great. thankyou! I haven’t got as far as putting things online yet, but I may do and when I do I’ll point you in the direction to where it is!! Of course I’ll keep the source on the picture and include Mudpies and fireflies as a link!! Thanks very much and I love all your ideas – and your boy’s too!! Emma

  2. Pingback: The Best (and Worst!) of 2012 | Fireflies and Mud Pies

  3. Pingback: 12 Best Learning Activities from 2012!

  4. Pingback: The First Mud Puddles of Spring | Fireflies and Mud Pies

  5. Pingback: Learning From a Flooded Driveway | Fireflies and Mud Pies

I love comments! Please leave one here:

