Our Favorite Granola

Years ago, back in college, my roommate, Maria, asked me (as I was eating a bowl of Reese’s Puffed cereal), if I would allow my future children to eat sugary breakfast cereal.

“Sure,” replied 19 year-old Melissa with a full mouth, “It’s more important that they eat breakfast. It doesn’t really matter what it is.”

Ha! I’d like to smack that Melissa because 32 year-old Melissa knows better. I have purchased the junk and have seen how it influences my children’s behavior (umm, hyperactivity and crankiness anyone?) and appetite in the morning (they are voracious by morning snack time!).

It didn’t take very long to concede that Fruity Cheerios and Dora the Explorer cereal weren’t the best choices . . . but I don’t always have time to make eggs and pancakes on school mornings . . . and they only will eat oatmeal when Todd makes it (probably because he loads it with brown sugar).

Granola ended up being the solution to my problem – but not the tasteless, cardboard box granola from the grocery stores. Real granola . . . with nuts, raisins, honey, brown sugar, rolled oats, and cinnamon . . . that is free of preservatives, artificial flavorings and ingredients, and dyes. With a side of fresh fruit or yogurt, Colin and Owen devour it.

Bonus? When it’s baking, your home will smell amazing.

OUR FAVORITE GRANOLA from Donna

  • 4 cups old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup local, raw honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Dried fruit (whatever you prefer)

1. Mix the first 5 ingredients together in a large bowl.

2. Warm the oil, honey and vanilla in a saucepan over low heat.

TIP: Measure out the oil first, then the honey (the oil will coat the measuring cup and the honey will slip right out).

3. Pour the oil/honey mixture over the rolled oat mixture. Mix well and spread onto a parchment lined baking sheet. Bake for 40 minutes at 300 degrees. Stir every 10 minutes.

4. Allow to cool. Mix in dried fruit if you desire. Eat and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Our Favorite Granola

    • No, I have never made these into bars. I use a different recipe for those (it’s not on the blog yet). I read somewhere once that if you wanted to make your favorite granola recipe into bars, than to use steel cut oats. Now, I don’t know if this works or not – I’ve never tried that tip yet!

  1. Pingback: Chicken Tenders and BBQ Sauce | Fireflies and Mud Pies

I love comments! Please leave one here:

