Let’s Learn About: Polar Bears

1 1 066-002

Happy New Year!

For me, 2013 is going to be all about simplifying. My goal includes not only simplifying my home and daily routines, but also my blog. To help myself achieve this, I have assigned myself content topic themes and deadlines:

  • Monday: I will share a favorite “kid approved” recipe.
  • Wednesday: I will publish a seasonal “Let’s Learn About” post which will always include a craft, activity, or skill.
  • Friday: Is “Free Day!” I get to write about whatever inspires me.
  • Saturday: I will always publish an outdoor education/play themed post.

1 1 074Inspired by our January/February 2013 issue of National Geographic Little Kids, today we learned about polar bears! Here are some fun facts for kids (and adults!) about polar bears:

  • Polar bears live within the Arctic Circle. They spend most of their life at sea, but are born on land in snow dens.
  • Huge paws help the polar bear swim fast and walk swiftly over the snow.
  • A male polar bear can weigh up to 1,500 lbs!
  • Polar bears swim from ice chunk to ice chunk as they hunt for seals.
  • A polar bear’s white fur is a source of warmth and camouflage.
  • Polar bears have black skin. It’s function is to hold the heat from the sun.

As I read the magazine to Colin and Owen, they enjoyed a polar bear craft that illustrated the fact that polar bears have black skin underneath all of their thick, white fur.

Polar Pals from The Mailbox: Organize January Now!

  • Black and white construction paper
  • Scissors
  • Glue
  • White yarn

1. Cut out the shape of a polar bear from black construction paper. I traced it from the magazine. Have your child glue the polar bear to their sheet of white paper.

2. Invite your child to spread glue all around the front of the polar bear.

3. Show your child how to press pieces of white yarn into their picture. The white yarn is the polar bear’s fur.

1 1 083

4. If desired, your child may draw seals, ice, water and snow all around their polar bear. Colin and Owen chose to skip this step and opted for simply writing their name.

1 1 092

Literature Link-Up:

Baby Polar by Yannick Murphy

Hush Little Polar Bear by Jeff Mack

The World of the Polar Bear by Norbert Rosing

This Post Has Been Featured!

8 thoughts on “Let’s Learn About: Polar Bears

  1. Pingback: Let’s Learn About: Dinosaurs | Fireflies and Mud Pies

  2. Pingback: A Bunny Easter Treat Craft | Fireflies and Mud Pies

I love comments! Please leave one here:

