Homemade Butterscotch Sauce

January 20 027This recipe has been lurking around in my recipe binder lately . . . waiting . . . waiting . . . and waiting for the right time to be made. Yesterday, just as I was about to head out the door to buy some groceries, Todd shouted to me, “Oh! And can you pick up some caramel and ice-cream?”

I turned around and said, “No. I have a homemade butterscotch recipe that I photocopied from a book last year. I’d like to make that.”

“Can you pick up some caramel just in case the recipe doesn’t turn out?”

“It will turn out.”

Several hours later (oops – I accidentally came across a Hobby Lobby too!), I returned with our groceries, and the 4 (that’s right, 4!) ingredients for:

Butterscotch Sauce from New Hampshire: From Farm to Kitchen by Helen Brody

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 pound dark brown sugar (about 2 cups)
  • 1 TBSP lemon juice
  • 1 cup heavy cream

1. Combine all of the ingredients in a double boiler or a bowl over a pot of hot water (this is what I did). Stir every so often, and allow the mixture to cook for 1 hour.

January 20 006Truly, the hardest part of this recipe is waiting and you won’t be able to resist dipping your finger into the bowl occasionally. But when it’s ready . . .

January 20 039. . . you’ll decide it was well worth the wait!

NOTE: This butterscotch sauce should be stored in the refrigerator and will keep for about 1 month. It will harden and crystallize, slightly, in the refrigerator. To warm, simply scoop out small amounts and microwave for 15-30 seconds, or submerge the jar in hot water to soften.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Butterscotch Sauce

  1. Pingback: Valentine Chipwiches | Fireflies and Mud Pies

I love comments! Please leave one here:

