DIY: Vanilla Sugar Body Scrub

January 23 129 resizedIt’s funny – I grew up with brothers, yet I simply do not remember the noise of boys from my childhood. I just can’t get over how LOUD they can be at times! The vrooming . . . the crashing . . . the to the rescues . . . the choo chooing . . . the honking!

Sometimes, I simply need an escape from the action. In early morning, when Colin and Owen are paying more attention to Clifford than to me, I slip away to . . .

. . . the bathroom.

Sometimes they find me. But if I’m lucky, then I get a whole fifteen minutes to myself. A whole fifteen minutes! Now, my bathroom isn’t anything fancy. There are no double sinks, nor is there a whirlpool tub; there are no candles or fluffy white towels. But, it’s clean. And the water is hot (as long as no one uses the sinks downstairs!). And in those fifteen minutes of solitude I can imagine that I am away somewhere, being pampered at a luxurious spa. Can you imagine it, Mama?

No?

Well, then it’s time to take back your fifteen minutes of well-deserved me time and toss that bar of Dove. Whip up some of this in your kitchen and enjoy an at-home spa experience – even if your bathtub is pea green (like mine) and you can’t find a matching towel set to save your life!

Vanilla Sugar Body Scrub by Fruetcake

  • 1/2 cup vanilla sugar
  • 2 cups Turbinado sugar
  • 1 TBSP raw, local honey
  • 1/2 cup olive oil (I used regular olive oil because the scent is more neutral, but you may use EVOO as well)
  • 1 TBSP vanilla extract

1. Mix all of the ingredients together. Store in an airtight container.

January 23 136 resizedThis body scrub, which leaves your skin lightly scented, smooth and soft, is adaptable and makes a wonderful gift. To change the scent, simply use plain, white sugar (as opposed to vanilla sugar) and replace the vanilla extract with 10-20 drops of essential oil.

January 23 154Sadly . . . your kids will eventually notice your absence and you will have to enter back into the world of make believe bad guys, blaring fire trucks, and snack preparation (can we chat for a moment about how much and how often little boys seem to need to eat!?), but at least you’ll be well moisturized!

5 thoughts on “DIY: Vanilla Sugar Body Scrub

I love comments! Please leave one here:

