Six-Minute Chocolate Cake

6 Minute Chocolate Cake

Several days ago, I was suffering from an unusually strong chocolate craving. Naturally, I went to the freezer where I store the chocolate chips for baking. But, there was nothing there! In a panic, I checked the top of the hutch, where Todd likes to hide M&Ms. But, there was nothing there! The closest thing to consumable chocolate I could find was a container of unsweetened cocoa, but on its own, cocoa is absolutely bitter. I began paging through one of my favorite cookbooks, the Moosewood Restaurant Book of Desserts by The Moosewood Collective, and as if it were meant to be, I came across a recipe called “Six-Minute Chocolate Cake.” Six minutes to prepare, 25 minutes to bake; surely, I could wait that long!

I invited my resident baker of 4-years to help, mostly because we hadn’t spent much time in the kitchen together since moving away from Michigan and I missed him! Colin happily obliged, as chocolate cake is his favorite!

Six-Minute Chocolate Cake by The Moosewood Collective

  • 1 1/2 cups unbleached white flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 TSP baking soda
  • 1/2 TSP salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup cold water (or coffee)
  • 2 TSP pure vanilla extract
  • 2 TBSP apple cider vinegar

1. Preheat the oven to 375.

2. Sift the flour, cocoa, baking soda, salt, and sugar directly into the cake pan. That’s right! No need to grease the pan. No need for extra mixing bowls that you will later have to clean. All ingredients are mixed directly in the cake pan! NOTE: If you want to be able to remove the entire cake from the pan to create a layer cake, line the pan with parchment paper.

January 26 0243. Pour all of the liquid ingredients (except the apple cider vinegar) into the baking pan and whisk until smooth.

January 26 0374. When the batter is smooth and creamy, add the vinegar and mix quickly. The recipe states that the pale swirls in the batter are evidence of the baking soda and vinegar reaction which helps the cake to rise.

January 26 0545. Bake the cake for 25-30 minutes and allow to cool.

6. If desired, frost the cake (the cookbook suggests vegan Mocha Frosting), but I couldn’t wait around for the cake to cool. We sliced right into it warm from the pan, gave it a quick sprinkle of powdered sugar, and I can’t even describe how delicious it was. Soft, springy, chocolatey, and exactly what I was craving!

January 26 066Without a doubt, this recipe is a keeper!

12 thoughts on “Six-Minute Chocolate Cake

  1. Do you think this would work to pour into cupcakes? Keita has a classmate that can’t have dairy and I’d like to make a chocolately goody she can eat too!! I wasn’t sure with the apple cider vinegar.

  2. My granddaughter has dairy and egg allergies. And she loves to bake with Nana. So we will definitely try this one!! Thank you. Thank you!

    • My oldest has had a dairy allergy since birth. I typically substitute plain soy milk anytime a recipe calls for dairy, but I was so happy to find this recipe! It’s so delicious – she’s going to love it! Many of the recipes in the Moosewood Cookbook Series are vegan – check them out! There is no need for kids with allergies to miss out on tasty sweets!

  3. Pingback: Valentine Chipwiches | Fireflies and Mud Pies

  4. Oh my, you might just be my husband’s new favorite. He’s allergic to eggs, but loves chocolate cake. He’s also on a no dairy binge. This is going to rock his world and I’ll be wife of the century! Thanks!!

    http://thisfineday.com/

    • Now if I could only find a way to become my husband’s favorite . . . LOL! Only joking! So glad you are happy about the recipe! The book linked in the post is awesome – almost everything in it is Vegan! Check it out!

I love comments! Please leave one here:

