Chicken Tenders and BBQ Sauce

Once upon a time before children, I had a social life and carried a purse, instead of a diaper bag. I went to movies . . . and stayed awake for the whole entire show! I went white water rafting and rock climbing. (With no fear of dying and leaving my children alone on Earth.) I went to cities and stayed in hostiles and cheap hotels, without consideration or care about bed bugs, or whether the room was non-smoking. One particular trip to Chicago with girlfriends, we attended dinner at an upscale, sophisticated restaurant. My friends ordered dishes with names I could hardly pronounce and I ordered the chicken tenders. (With a glass of red wine, of course, because I’m classy like that!)

February 13 108I have to tell you, they were the best darn chicken tenders I have ever eaten in my life. Completely homemade with a light brown crumb, the meat inside was juicy and sweet. Since it was a fancy restaurant, they were served with a variety of gourmet dipping sauces, including my personal favorite, BBQ Sauce.

Since then, I’ve often tried to recreate that dish. I’ve never succeeded because I don’t fry my homemade chicken tenders. But I have found a contender that I believe to be almost as good! But first things first, all good chicken tenders need BBQ Sauce!

February 13 084I think the person that invented BBQ Sauce was bored one day and wanted to see what would happen if they mixed up a little bit of this and a little bit of that, and then cooked it. In fact, BBQ Sauce is sort of gross (but very easy) to make. The end result, however, is delicious, sweet, and tangy. It’s simply a bonus that it is all natural and dye and preservative free.

BBQ Sauce from Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites

  • 1/2 cup chopped onions
  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 2 TBSP prepared mustard
  • 2 TBSP molasses
  • 1/2 TSP dried thyme
  • 1/2 TSP ground black pepper

1. Place all of the ingredients in a blender or food processor. I use my Magic Bullet and it works beautifully! Puree the mixture until it is smooth.

2. Simmer the sauce in a small pot, uncovered, for 15 minutes or until thickened. Stir often.

3. Store in the refrigerator for 2 weeks. Since BBQ Sauce is not something that we enjoy weekly, I store it in the freezer.

Homemade Chicken Tenders from recipe.com

  • 2 1/2 pounds of boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 TSP salt
  • 1/4 TSP ground black pepper
  • Non-stick cooking spray
  • 2 cups crushed Cornflakes or breadcrumbs (with 1 TSP Italian seasoning added)
  • 1/2 cup grated fresh Parmesan cheese

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and cut the chicken breasts in half.

2. Combine the yogurt, water, salt, and pepper in a large bowl.

3. Combine grated Parmesan and crushed Cornflakes in a second large bowl.

4. Add the chicken strips to the yogurt mixture and toss together until chicken is well-coated. Dip the chicken strips into the Cornflake mixture.

February 13 0655. Place the chicken strips on a parchment lined baking sheet and spray the chicken strips with cooking spray. Bake for 20 minutes.

With sides of corn and salad, homemade chicken tenders with BBQ Sauce is a healthy, wholesome and definitely “kid approved” meal! Enjoy!

You might also like:

PicMonkey Collage2Chicken Pot Pie

Apple Scrap Jelly

Our Favorite Granola

2 thoughts on “Chicken Tenders and BBQ Sauce

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter – Chocolate Cream Cheese Spread | Fireflies and Mud Pies

I love comments! Please leave one here:

