100th Post Round Up

Today is an exciting day for me because this is my 100th Post on Fireflies and Mud Pies! I launched this blog eight months ago and never once thought that so many people would read and enjoy it. Fireflies and Mud Pies is important to me for several reasons:

  • I am back into the daily habit of writing. When I was in college, I spent much of my time writing stories and poetry and participating in literary activities around campus. Not long after graduation, I lost my muse. I “suffered” a ten-year writer’s block until I became a stay-at-home mom in 2011. Now, everyday I am energized and inspired by my children. They make me want to be the best mother that I can be, and I have once again found my voice. I am grateful for the blessing to share it with you!
  • Through blogging, I have discovered friendship, connections, and community. My family has moved several times the past two years due to job relocation and job loss. Moving in general – but, especially for those reasons – is stressful. Blogging has gifted me with a little mobile community. The writers that I collaborate with through Kid Blogger Network and Inner Child Learning are supportive, friendly, helpful, encouraging, and caring. I am thankful for their friendship, advice, and support!
  • Fireflies and Mud Pies is a virtual scrapbook and journal for my children. Not to dampen the mood, but if I died tomorrow, my blog would become a great treasure to my boys.
  • Blogging has awakened sleeping dreams. For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to become a children’s book author. Fireflies and Mud Pies has already opened a few doors for me and I am confident that through daily writing practice and hard work, my goal is now within reach!

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU for reading Fireflies and Mud Pies. As a special treat for you, I have asked writers from the Kid Blogger Network to share their 100th Posts from their blogs. The round-up below is an awesome hodgepodge of children’s activities, crafts, and recipes from inspiring people! I hope you enjoy it.

Kid Blogger Network Writers Share Their 100th Post

100th Post RoundupName Activities for Preschoolers (Part 2) by Fantastic Fun & Learning

Ice Block Art – Snow and Ice Theme by The Golden Gleam

Weekends in Kodachrome: Mud by Connecting Family and Seoul

Old Skool Pasta Salad by Kitchen Counter Chronicles

F-J in the ABCs of Sensory Play by Creative Playhouse

Making a Glass Jar Lantern by Buggy and Buddy

Tea with the Queen by Here Come the Girls

Rainy Day Play by My Buddies and I

50 Mom-Approved Trips and Tricks for Daily Life by Glittering Muffins

DIY Fabric Applique Shirts by The Chirping Moms

Diaper in the Wash by Laugh With Us Blog

Exploring Density and Water Flow Outside by Inspiration Laboratories

New Experience #8 by 52 Brand New

Educational Carnival Games: Buried Treasure by True Aim Parenting & Education

5 Must-Dos Before Halloween Night by KC Edventures

Vacation Thanks by There’s Just One Mommy

Ice-cream Sundae Shaving Cream by Momma’s Fun World

Christmas Activities: A Christmas Tree of Hearts by Blog Me Mom

PreK – Art Class by Royal Baloo

Puffy Ice-cream Cones in Preschool by Teach Preschool

Pippi Longstocking’s Funky Tie Dye Socks- Sweden by Juggling with Kids

Cotton Candy Playdough by Mama Miss

Roll Into Geography by 123 Homeschool 4 Me

Great stART: Piep Piep Piep or making watches with children by Red Ted Art

Tinfoil and Sharpies by Housing a Forest

Christmas Candy Counting by Love, Play, Learn

Indian Headband by Frogs & Snails & Puppy Dog Tails

Squishy Snow Sensory Activity for Preschool Kids by Coffee Cups and Crayons

Finally, A Flannel Board by Child Central Station

Animals Prints by Rainy Day Mum

Paul Revere”s Ride and 2 If By Sea Lanterns by 3 Dinosaurs

How to Make Salt Dough Easter Eggs by Powerful Mothering

Paint the Sky Activity by Growing a Jeweled Rose

Beginning to Learn Your ABCs by Growing Book by Book

Make Multicultural Paper Dolls by Kid World Citizen

Preschool Homeschool Lesson Plans: Week 29, Age 3 by Mud Hut Mama

Noodle Sensory Play by The Fairy and the Frog

Hot Chocolate and Play Dough by Fun-A-Day

Awards and . . . by Craft to Art

Nature-Art Scavenger Hunt by Artchoo

Russian Runaway Gingerbread: Kolobok by Little Artists

A Reggio-twist on Gel Sensory Bags by An Everyday Story

Again, thank you for reading my little blog. I appreciate you!

* * *

Thank you for visiting! I’d LOVE for you to hang around and browse! Please like Fireflies and  Mud Pies on Facebook, subscribe by email, or follow me on Pinterest to be sure you don’t miss an update. 

25 thoughts on “100th Post Round Up

  1. This is such a great way to celebrate your 100th post – thank you so much for including me! I love your reasons for blogging and have similar ones myself – I also think about the “if I died tomorrow”. Congratulations – 100 posts in eight months is amazing – it took me just over a year to hit 100!

    • Thank you! I have to tell you, the other night I said to my kids, “Colin and Owen, come here. Do you know how we get really excited when we see Bald Eagles? What would you do if you went outside to play and saw this!” And then I showed them the picture of your girls coloring on the porch with elephants in the background. They couldn’t believe it!! LOL!

  2. Great idea for a post. I’m sorry I didn’t get my act together and dig up my 100th post. I still want to go back and see what it was though. I love what you wrote about blogging. All those things ring true. So many added benefits I never anticipated. Congrats on 100!

      • What a fun idea for a post and thank you for including mine! Congrats on your 100th post!

        Thanks for linking to the Sunday Showcase. I’ve pinned it to our board.

        (I couldn’t list in the normal comment box as there wasn’t a submit button – I’m commenting from an iPad – not sure if that makes a difference?)

I love comments! Please leave one here:

