Instead of Tossing It . . . Fix It!

Several days ago, my children received a generous box of wooden trains, tracks, and accessories from their Great Aunt. They were my cousin’s trains when he was a little boy, and Colin and Owen have thoroughly been enjoying them!

Deep inside of the box were several broken and chipped road signs. Colin asked me if I was going to throw them out. I replied, “No. We can fix these signs right up.” He cheered!

fix it

(NOTE: For your convenience, this post contains third-party links that will direct you to other websites or to my Amazon Store. See disclosures.)

Colin asked me that question because he knows that usually, I throw out broken toys that can’t be repaired. Broken toys that can’t be fixed do not get played with and become clutter. I do not care for clutter. The good news is that many high quality wooden toys are easily repaired with wood glue and/or a coat of paint. The road signs were salvageable! Hooray!

signsI gave the signs a fresh coat of acrylic craft paint and when they were dry, spread a thin layer of glossy Mod Podge over them. An hour later, the road signs were back in action!

truckDo you give broken toys TLC and attempt to repair them, or toss them?

What was your best “save?”

* * *

Thank you for visiting! I’d LOVE for you to hang around and browse! Please like Fireflies and  Mud Pies on Facebook, subscribe by email, or follow me on Pinterest to be sure you don’t miss an update. 

2 thoughts on “Instead of Tossing It . . . Fix It!

  1. Pingback: 10 Ways to Honor Earth Day | Fireflies and Mud Pies

I love comments! Please leave one here:

