Process Based Gardening

Every spring, I look forward to starting flower and vegetable seeds with the boys. It usually starts off well enough, and I begin to feel hopeful that this will be the year that the seeds actually grow.

owen patting dirt

They fill their little pots with dirt.

bean seeds

They plant their seeds. (Usually a tad too deep and sometimes, not at all!)

watering seeds

They water the seeds. They water the seeds quite well.

colin watering seeds

And when the pots look ready . . .

seed packs

. . . we cover them up and wait for the seeds to grow.

waiting for them to grow

Sometimes they do (grow)! But, sometimes they don’t. It doesn’t really matter to me in the end, because my children had fun! They got dirty! They showed interest in something other than Batman!

owen

Well, maybe not Batman!

About the time that the 3rd seed packet is being dumped gleefully into the dirt, I let go of my expectations and simply enjoy the process of gardening with my two cool kiddos.

(And I can’t help but smile, knowing that I’ll just plant my garden later.)

* * *

Thank you for visiting! I’d LOVE for you to hang around and browse! Please like Fireflies and Mudpies on Facebook, subscribe by email, or follow me on Pinterest to be sure you don’t miss an update. 

3 thoughts on “Process Based Gardening

  1. I was told to try to start seeds and seedlings on raw potatoes cut in half with a little dirt on top. I am excited to try it! Happy Gardening!

  2. As the mother of two girls I’ve never seen superhero gardening in action before – it’s a revelation! Looks like you had a lot of fun and who knows, some of the seeds may even germinate 🙂

  3. We have had adventures with planting seeds too. JDaniel is always just as excited about planting the seeds as with their actually growing. Thank you so much for sharing this post on Dig Into Gardening. I will be sharing this on Pinterest!

I love comments! Please leave one here:

