Mr. Freeze Dough

(This post is sponsored, in part, by Craftprojectideas.com.)

If you had told me ten years ago that someday I would pretty much become a superhero expert, I would have laughed. I would have laughed loud and perhaps uncontrollably. But now I know things like:

  • Green Lantern wears a power ring that gives him the ability to create solid objects.
  • Batman’s true identity is billionaire Bruce Wayne.
  • Mr. Freeze, enemy of Batman, is a former scientist who possesses a freeze gun and wears a cryogenic (explain THAT to a 5-year old) suit in order to survive.

As parents, we learn stuff like this to have something to talk about with our kids; to show them that we care about their interests. When I am able to hold my own in a conversation about superheroes with my boys, I see appreciation and pride in their eyes. That look is enough to make me do ridiculous things such as cooking up a chilly batch of Mr. Freeze Dough for afternoon free play.

Mr Freeze Dough

Mr. Freeze Dough isn’t difficult or messy to make, as it is just regular homemade playdough that is chilled in the freezer (hooray for simplicity!). What made this dough special to Owen was the fact that I made it just for him with his interests at heart.

Supplies Needed:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup regular kosher salt
  • 1 TBSP Cream of Tartar
  • 1 TBSP vegetable oil
  • several squirts of grey or blue tempera paint
  • iridescent glitter
  • turquoise chenille stems

Directions:

Whisk all of the ingredients (except for the glitter) together in a saucepan. Stir the playdough over medium heat until it becomes one big ball. Remove the playdough from the pan and allow it to cool. When it is cool enough to handle, incorporate the glitter into the dough by kneading it well.

glitter on dough

Chill the dough in the freezer. When it is ready, freeze the good guys and take over the world – mua ha ha!

playing

A plastic cookie tray makes great “ice” to encase one’s enemies. A turquoise chenille stem can be an excellent make-shift freeze gun. With everything in order, Owen played for hours!

ice

Next on my list is making an honest effort to finally understand how one keeps score in tennis (Colin’s favorite sport). And while I’m at it, I should probably brush up on my knowledge of soccer, Star Wars, and tools.

What have your child’s interests taught you?

* * *

Thank you for visiting! I’d LOVE for you to hang around and browse! Please like Fireflies and  Mud Pies on Facebook, subscribe by email, or follow me on Pinterest to be sure you don’t miss an update. 

I love comments! Please leave one here:

